Beyond Reason


Hippie Friend

Posted in Personal by Abigail on June 1, 2008

My new roommate is a reasonable hippie. At that least that’s what I call her. There are no paper napkins or paper towels in the kitchen. Instead, there are cloth napkins, blue and yellow. It’s like always being at a picnic.

Social constraints seem to carry no weight. At her upcoming wedding, she plans to have no bridesmaids. Why? Bridesmaids, believe it or not, are the result of a pagan tradition which says you must protect the bride by having multiple women stand next to her that are all dressed the same. Brilliant, for sure. Especially considering the bride is the one all in white.

Almost more than anything, you can’t not get along with her. She’s like world peace in walking form. She talks in loping form. It’s casual. Easy. Semi-slow. Broken up at points. Sentences just not finished. Whatever. That’s one of her favorite words. Along with “peace friend”. Positivity pours from her. And it’s not like she’s positive because she doesn’t know what’s going on. She works with high school kids doing intervention, and avidly reads the news and various books.

Last week she helped four young Thai male refugees move into their new place of living, and gave them supplies. This week, she took them “shopping” for free clothes at the Salvation Army and helped them learn English.

She’s for real.

From my roommate, I’ve learned words like “ecologically friendly”. Before Sonja, I couldn’t take seriously “tree-huggers.” Now, I can. If they’re anything like her. Maybe, on a super good Sonja-influenced day, I could begin to consider global warming as having a slight amount of viability. Nah. In the meantime, we wash out all the little plastic baggies, and reuse them. And drink lots of wine.

2 Responses to 'Hippie Friend'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Hippie Friend'.

  1. chris said,

    Yes, don’t go the way of global warming.

  2. amandalaine said,

    Would you be unable to post on my blog if I did? 🙂

    I’d probably be unable to post on my blog if I did. I have one friend who’s in support of the whole movement. And I’ve asked him before for evidence – he’s a very intelligent guy. And he literally had none! Later on, however, he sent me to a web site. I have yet to read it in depth. It really really just seems like it’s “cool” to fight global warming, not like it’s actually legitimate in any way. And anything Al Gore supports just has to be suspect.

    Anyway, I’m going to get myself in a lot of trouble here. So, time to stop!

    Anyone have good evidence of global warming? I’m listening. Sometimes it’s hot in the summer…


Leave a Reply

